Skip to content

Thanksgiving

November 22, 2012

Every year at this time, something is happening. What is that? Well, obviously Christmas decorations go up and the music begins to play! What else?!

I jest. Thanksgiving is today.

We often forget what the holiday stands for though the idea is simple enough: be thankful. Among the excitement of Christmas approaching and being allowed to overeat, it just gets lost.

I am taking this moment before the Black Friday sales begin and before the food-induced coma takes its course to give thanks.

First and foremost, I am thankful for my parents. Without them, I wouldn’t have anything to be thankful for. Everything I have, everything I know, everything that makes me who I am is all them. Of course I am not an only child, so I have to be thankful for my sibling and her offspring. When my parents aren’t enough, I have a loving sister to turn to and two amazing kids that each possess the ability to make me forget all of my troubles. Lastly would be my adopted family member: my best friend. Imagining a world without my best friend is a world I wouldn’t want to be part of. We are strangely similar yet polar opposites and I am thankful for her not only today, but every single day.

Leaving the sweet notes in the rear-view mirror, here are a forty things that I am thankful for (in no particular order):

There you have it: what I am most thankful for. Now that being politically correct has been achieved, if you’ll excuse me I have some food to eat and shopping to plan.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

