Skip to content

A Clichéd New Year’s

December 21, 2011

Waiting for my oil to be changed, I am surrounded by people running into others seemingly unexpected.  The whole situation is textbook.  How are you?  How is the family?  So on, and so forth.  However, given the season, I’m also hearing a few splashes of holiday flair being thrown in as well.  Most obvious are Christmas-related questions and the farewell that plagues this season: “See you next year.”  One person nearest my left, however asked someone if they had any New Year’s resolutions… Interesting.

While I won’t go into detail of this woman’s aspirations the fast-approaching year, I will say, I’ve heard it all before.  We all have.  From shedding some pounds and hitting the gym to putting out the cigarettes and pouring the alcohol down the drain.  While I understand these being feasible goals for those who could benefit, I am left with one request: Be creative.

Given my current situation, I could easily make a few clichéd New Year’s resolutions.  I could lose weight and hit the gym.  But I won’t.  I could quit smoking and drinking.  However, I never started smoking and I certainly do not drink enough to warrant a resolution to quit.  The most obvious common resolutions I could make would include landing a new job, saving more money, spending more time with my family, and maybe even learning new things.  I feel that each of those “resolutions” are things that will be done regardless the beginning of a new year.  The idea that changes can only be made at the beginning of a new year is a cliché in itself: if a change is worth making, it doesn’t need to be put off.

This blog for instance, was first thought of in the fall of 2007 and I made it a resolution for 2008.  Then for whatever reason, I decided to put it off until I bought my iMac.  My iMac arrived in July of 2008.  In August of 2008, I opened most of my accounts (Twitter, YouTube, etc.) in preparation for what would be my blog.  What happened between then and now, I can’t explain, but it has been almost three and a half years since I had intended to begin blogging.  In November, I decided that 2012 is the year to make my first entry and it would be on January 1st.  Then I realized I was about to fall into the pattern again so I just did it.  If its worth doing its worth doing now.

Ditching the resolution trend altogether, I’ve decided instead to set a few short-term goals.  Firstly, I will be reading one real book per month as opposed to the literary smut I have become accustomed to.  I have over 600 books on my NOOK, so why not read them?  Next, I’d like to further embrace my creative side, something this blog marks the beginning of.  Other ways I plan to do this include dabbling in photography and music.  My third and last goal is to simply be myself.  These seemingly simple blog entries are my personal journey in completing these goals, and I’m already learning more about myself than I ever thought possible (how’s that for cliché).

When making resolutions or goals for yourself for the upcoming year, remember that the most important things might be completely invisible to others.  Cars require some TLC from time to time to remain at their best, and we are the same.  If a nice-looking car misses an oil change by a few thousand miles, it won’t run efficiently much longer but may still appear wonderful.  Likewise, if you continue to ignore your inner needs by focusing only on what you can see, you’ll look fine but will require much work to fix what is hiding underneath.  Take the time to ask yourself what would be best for you to improve upon in the new year but whatever you do–don’t wait until January 1st to make a change.

Leave a Reply

