Skip to content

My Top Ten Songs of 2011

December 31, 2011

2011 was quite a year for music.  In pop, Adele’s 21 was released as well as Lady Gaga’s Born This Way, with country, Lady Antebellum released Own The Night, hip-hop carried in the Jay-Z & Kanye West collaboration, Watch The Throne, alternative music delivered Torches by Foster the People and David Guetta represented dance with Nothing But the Beat.  Of course many, many more albums and artists come to mind: too many to list.  For this reason, I have challenged myself to deliver to you, my list of the top ten songs of 2011.

To do this, I created a smart playlist within iTunes to retrieve my 100 top-played songs included on albums released in 2011.  I thought hard about abiding by Grammy rules and allowing myself to tip-toe into the the last months of 2010 for albums such as Pink Friday by Nicki Minaj (who doesn’t love Super Bass?), ultimately deciding against it.  While acceptable for an award show, I decided I wanted to make this a bit tougher.  So here goes nothing…

10.) Friday by Rebecca Black: Yes, I am being serious.  I dare you to say you don’t know it, because more than likely no matter how much you’d like to say you don’t… You do.  It went viral, became the tune for a Kohl’s commercial, and taught us the days of the week.  Sure, the lyrics are awful and the video is worse, but this song makes the list because it should never have been a “hit.”

9.) What Doesn’t Kill You (Stronger) by Kelly Clarkson: This is Kelly Clarkson doing what she does best.  Her strength is singing power anthems about being a strong, independent person.

8.) Skyscraper by Demi Lovato: This girl went through a lot.  Instead of running away from her past, she decided to be very brave and face it.  She became a positive role-model and shared her story.  That is what this song is about.  Very powerful, simple, and moving.  Amazing.

7.) Pumped Up Kicks by Foster the People: Extremely catchy.  I believe this song gained popularity based on the subject matter, but either way, it is a great song.  Check out the album, too.

6.) We Found Love by Rihanna (featuring Calvin Harris): I don’t know what to say about this song other than I love it.  It is a club-banger and filled with energy.  I only wish it had been around earlier in the year (think Spring/Summer).

5.) We Owned The Night by Lady Antebellum: Something about this song is just perfect.  It is extremely short, yet describes a perfect night, the last night with someone at the end of summer.  The chorus is a mere four words, but it works flawlessly.

4.) Give Me Everything by Pit Bull (featuring Ne-Yo, Afrojack & Nayer): Where could you go without hearing this song?  Enough said.

3.) Ni**as in Paris by Jay-Z & Kanye West: I must admit the first time I heard this song, I was not into it.  Then it clicked: I loved the beat and the rest fell into place.  Easily my favorite song on Watch The Throne.

2.) Rolling In The Deep by Adele: While thinking about what songs to include on this list, my main dilemma was which song from 21 would make the cut.  Each song on 21 deserves a spot on any list for top music from 2011.  However, I thought it’d be best to go with the single that started the party.  The vocals are of course amazing and the songwriting is both meaningful and beautiful.  Perfect. 

1.) Born This Way by Lady Gaga: Anyone that knows me already knew that Lady Gaga would be at number one.  I’m a huge Lady GaGa fan.  This song however, goes past my love for the artist and into the song’s message.  Before I ramble on forever about my love for this song, I will sum it up with this statement: Very few songs can make me want to both dance and cry while not getting old after 1,073 plays.

Within my selections are the songs that made my year what it was.  My soundtrack of 2011.  You’ve likely heard them all… That’s why they made my list.

If you don’t have these songs and would like to get them, I have created a playlist available for purchase on iTunes which you can find here.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

