Skip to content

Literary Smut

January 4, 2012

Now that we have officially entered 2012, it is time to start working on those goals I previously mentioned. First, I wanted to tackle the reading goal: One real book per month that is not considered literary smut.

Literary smut. You’re not going to find that one in a dictionary. Even a quick search on Urban Dictionary returned no results. However, a Google search revealed to me that the term “literary smut” typically refers to books of an erotic nature. We will be ignoring this. For the sake of this blog, I have developed my own definition:

Literary smut is the genre I developed to better explain my love for non-traditional books. While I am completely able to read actual books with real depth, I choose not to.

Disclaimer: I am not in any way degrading the quality of the author’s work, these are a few of my favorite books I have read even in comparison to “real” books.

Now that my conscience is clear of any potential misunderstandings, here are two authors perfecting literary smut:

Chelsea Handler is by far one of my favorite people at the moment: second to only Lady GaGa. Chelsea has a total of four books under her belt, her own late-night talk show, and a sitcom premiering next week based on her books. Obviously, I’m not the only one into literary smut here. In her first book, My Horizontal Life: A Collection of One-Night Stands, Chelsea writes about exactly what you think: one-night stands. Sure, it sounds bad but is everything but. I’ve never laughed so hard at a book and thoroughly enjoyed what I was reading, wether or not I was learning anything of importance. Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea is the second book in her line-up and the namesake of her new sitcom. In this book, we get more of the same, and I am not complaining. Third up is Chelsea Chelsea Bang Bang which as said about Are You There, Vodka? It’s Me, Chelsea we get more of the same. Perfect. The most recent release, Lies That Chelsea Handler Told Me takes a different approach altogether. This time, the writers from her talk show, Chelsea Lately, come forth and share all of the stories of their run-ins with Chelsea. This makes for great reading as Chelsea is quite the prankster and as the book title insinuates, a story-teller.

Tucker Max, I’ve decided, it the male equivalent to Chelsea Handler. I have hoped for years that he would somehow find his way onto Chelsea Lately. To see the two of them together… wow. I need that. I first started reading his website while I was a senior in high school (how bad does that sound?!). He blogged about his conquests and experiences, which ultimately all ended up in his first book: I Hope They Serve Beer In Hell. The book in a nutshell is a collection of his blogs which essentially condemn him to hell by most people’s standards. His second book, much like the books by Chelsea Handler, continue on the same theme. Assholes Finish First is filled with more stories that amaze you by how much trouble this guy gets himself into!

So. This brings me to the challenge in completing my goal for the year. Literary classics such as Shakespeare’s Hamlet or A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens will likely not provide the same entertainment as my literary smut. It is possible that such classics could surprise me and provide more enjoyment than I may anticipate. Unfortunately, next month will deliver two challenges I may not be able to resist: Hilarity Ensues by Tucker Max and Life As I Blow It: Tales of Love, Life & Sex . . . Not Necessarily in That Order by Sarah Colonna (one of the writers from Chelsea Lately) both on February 7th. 2012, why you gotta tempt me, girl?

One Comment leave one →

Trackbacks

  1. 2012 « jonathan crumes

Leave a Reply

