Skip to content

The Monster Ball

January 7, 2012

Two years ago, I travelled through the remnants of a snowstorm four hours to St. Louis, Missouri for what would be one of the best times I’ve had so far in my life: The Monster Ball. Instead of going into detail and creating an inevitable review (or play-by-play) of the amazing concert, I have decided simply to include my favorite photos from the night as well as the Manifesto of Little Monsters:

There’s something heroic about the way my fans operate their cameras. So precisely and intricately, so proudly, and so methodically. Like Kings writing the history of their people. It’s their prolific nature that both creates and procures what will later be perceived as the “kingdom.” So, the real truth about Lady Gaga fans lies in this sentiment: They are the kings. They are the queens. They write the history of the kingdom, while I am something of a devoted Jester.

It is in the theory of perception that we have established our bond. Or, the lie, I should say, for which we kill. We are nothing without our image. Without our projection. Without the spiritual hologram of who we perceive ourselves to be, or rather to become, in the future.


When you’re lonely,

I’ll be lonely too,

And this is the fame.


Love and art.

12-18 1974

Lady Gaga

I created the Monster Ball so that my fans would have a place to go – a place where all the freaks are outside. – Lady Gaga

The Monster Ball was an amazing experience and I’m looking forward greatly to the next tour.  Until then, however, I will be rewatching The Monster Ball Live from Madison Square Garden on Bluray more times than I’m able to count.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

