Skip to content

Procrastination

September 3, 2012

Such a slippery slope. We all suffer from it at times, some more than others. Procrastination. What can I even say?

Let me begin arguing the idea that procrastination is merely an outlet of being lazy. I disagree completely. Sure, things we may use to aid us in procrastinating may seem awfully lazy (Netflix, I’m looking at you) I believe being lazy isn’t always one’s intention.

I have been called an impulse shopper by many people: something I will not deny. That trip to the store for one item? I find a lint roller, breath mints, travel size tissues, a drink, and maybe until recently a tabloid… all in the checkout line. I see my procrastination in the same light as my impulse shopping. I simply cannot resist what is in front of me.

What is in front of me, you ask? Right now, within reach, I have my iPhone, iPad, iMac, Nook, and the remote controls for Bluray and Apple TV. While I do not hold these devices accountable for my tendency to procrastinate more than I should, I believe it is obvious what my main weakness is: an Internet connection.

I have put off sleep, school, eating, and even this blog entry to indulge in just one more episode of Desperate Housewives on Netflix. But Netflix is not alone, I frequently fall victim to Facebook, but who doesn’t? Then you have Twitter which can be pretty entertaining for short spurts of time. But quite possibly the worst of them all, the black hole of the Internet: YouTube.

One seemingly normal video will lead you to another. The second leads to a third. Usually by the fifth video you’ve watched either a cute baby or a cute animal, maybe even both. Sometimes you’ll be lucky enough to avoid the weird side of YouTube but it has the ability to sneak up on you without warning. The links in the side bar are the death of an impulsive personality like mine.

Am I complaining of being a technologically current member of 2012? Absolutely not. Honestly, I hate to think what I’d give up to keep these devices and an Internet connection, I’m sure it’d be embarrassing.

Identifying the problem is the first step to a solution and I think I have finally arrived at one: I am watching Netflix and working on my blog. I believe that is a win, win situation.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. L Weesner permalink
    September 5, 2012 4:10 pm

    Jonathan, don’t know if you will get this, been reading some on your blog. My question is, why are you not going back to school and getting a degree in journalism? When you get your degree move to a large city and work for a magazine or newspaper. My
    opinion doesn’t count for much, but think you are missing your calling……just thinking. Love you, later

    • September 9, 2012 3:42 am

      Thank you! I appreciate you thinking so highly of my writing, but I see it more as a hobby. It’d be nice, but I couldn’t imagine doing this for a living!

Trackbacks

  1. Superpowers « jonathan crumes

Leave a Reply

