Skip to content

Kentucky

September 15, 2012

To me, Kentucky is a lot of things.

It is a place.  A place where I was born and raised.  The place I attended pre-school, elementary school, middle school, high school, and even college.  It is the place where those closest to me not only geographically, but emotionally, can be found.

Kentucky is also people.  The mother of a friend that I am quick to consider mine as well.  The neighbor that has been right across the street my entire life.  A best friend you’ve had since what seems like birth.  Then of course there are also the people that cramp my style, the extremely conservative crowd.  People are different everywhere, though.  It makes the world spin and Kentucky what it is.

Kentucky is a basketball team.  I am not much of a sports fan, but if I were to leave this out of my list… well, I’ll just say I have a grandmother who would disown me.

At times, Kentucky is boring.  Then I hear about how bad off some areas of the world are and I realize that boring isn’t too bad at times.  Any given day, I can venture into the country and be surrounded by nothing but my own thoughts.  For the opportunity to have boring moments, I am thankful.

I have always imagined myself leaving Kentucky as soon as I found my chance.  But as I have gotten older, I have come to not only appreciate what makes this state what it is, but to be thankful for it as well.  It never fails as soon as I travel out of the state, as soon as I reach a sign welcoming me to Kentucky, I am immediately relieved.

In one word, Kentucky is home.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2012 9:26 pm

    It is hard to wrap one’s head around all the things that “home” means, especially, I think, for young people growing up and often out of small towns. Having said that, I love this post. I love Kentucky, though I am, as you are, more intimately acquainted with its flaws than even the stereotypes can portray. It will always be home, and I will always be proud to be a Kentuckian for many of the reasons you have outlined here.

Trackbacks

  1. The End « jonathan crumes

Leave a Reply

