Skip to content

Marching Band Nostalgia

September 16, 2012

It happens to me every year around this time.  No, not allergies.  Worse.  I get an urge to watch marching bands.  Well, not only do I want to watch them but I also envision marching shows in my head.  Bad, I know.  I can’t believe I am even confessing that.

I guess the main reason would be that I did it for three years: it became second-nature.  I can’t even begin to explain how there are moments during regular everyday life that I find myself using some sort of marching fundamental.  I find most commonly that it happens when I am moving something heavy… especially backwards.

Marching band were for me some of the best times I came across in high school.  They were also some of the worst.  During my last year I was field commander; we had an amazing show and a terrific run with it.

This year, luckily for me, my nephew has joined marching band at his high school.  For once, I can attend a competition and have a legitimate excuse to be there other than nostalgia.

I get to enjoy the crisp air, performances, and best of all the concession stand.  All without the nasty sweaty days back in the summer during the infamous band camp.  I hope that my nephew enjoys the great times and learns from the bad, just as I did.  Either way, I know for certain I’ll be enjoying my funnel cakes and tacos in a bag the whole time he is down there doing his thing.

One Comment leave one →
  1. September 16, 2012 9:27 pm

    Love this picture! And I echo your sentiments on this topic as well!

Leave a Reply

