Skip to content

Night Owl

September 17, 2012

As long as I can remember, I’ve always been more fond of night than day.  I used to get in trouble for staying up past bedtime watching either home movies or I Love Lucy on Nick at Nite.  Either way, I was up as late as I could swing.

As I got older, I actually began to have “things” to do.  By things, I actually mean playing Roller Coaster Tycoon into the wee hours of the morning.  On that, to this day, not being able to play the old-school Roller Coaster Tycoon games is one of my biggest regrets about switching to a Mac.  I even installed Windows XP on my iMac in Bootcamp just to try and satisfy my craving.  Anyway… back to the topic at hand.

I suppose you could say the whole night owl business really took off when I started college.  Go figure, right?  Correct.  At first it started off innocently enough, just hanging out with people in the dorm before suddenly realizing how late it was.  Next thing I know, I am making plans for 3am.  Okay, by plans, I mean the McDonald’s next to campus started breakfast then and we intended to be first in line.  On more occasions than I’d like to admit, some friends and I have even stayed up until 6am… otherwise known as when Cracker Barrel opens.  We apparently love breakfast.

Suddenly I found myself putting off homework until the middle of the night.  Sometimes it was nothing more than simply putting something off until the last minute and being in a mad-dash to finish it before class.  More often than not, it was because the either the computer lab or study room was empty.  Or even better, my next-door neighbor finally stopped singing karaoke alone (that right there could be a whole other entry).

As I write this, it is 4:10 in the morning.  Why am I up?  No idea.  Could I sleep?  Probably.  Two things are playing into this particular night, though.  First: we got a Keurig today and I had three cups of coffee around 9pm.  Second: I have finally given into the notion that I am a lot more productive at night.  It might be the fact that nobody is up or around to distract me or simply because I like to feel alone in the silence.  Maybe a combination, I won’t rule either one out.

After thinking about it, I realized most of the entries on my blog have been written in the middle of the night.  An exact number?  Twenty out of twenty-five… well twenty-one out of twenty-six once this entry goes live.  Will I be changing this pattern?  Absolutely not.  I have found something that works for me and I will be riding this out… after I go grab breakfast at McDonald’s, of course.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

