Skip to content

Individuality

September 29, 2012

It is the one thing that we all strive for in life that should be effortless: individuality.

We often take a different path from others to showcase that we are not like the rest.  Some take to physical appearances to differentiate themselves.  The one thing that stays constant?  We try.  Often times, we try extremely too much.

I believe that to be a true individual takes absolutely no effort.  None.  The presence of effort establishes that there is also thought being put into the subject.  When thoughts are involved, over-thinking is typically present.  From there it is a slippery slope until you find yourself not recognizing who it is you are seeing in the mirror.

Expressing yourself and being who you are is very important in life and honestly, is something I have and still am struggling with.  About one thing I am sure: when you allow yourself to be you, everything else just falls into place.

Today you are You, that is truer than true. There is no one alive who is Youer than You. -Dr. Seuss

As far as I go, I consider myself to be quite an individual.  Some may think I am simply fooling myself because I dress preppy, live for pop culture, and listen mostly to mainstream music that I am nothing more than a sheep in a herd.  I challenge that notion.  Simply because one can be pushed into categories and then subcategories doesn’t mean that one thing defines their character.

I believe what makes me stand out is that I will, for the most part, wear my differences on my sleeve.  Looking back on my childhood, I have quite often gone against the status-quo, never caring what  people thought about what I was doing as long as I was enjoying it.  From playing with my sister’s dolls to dressing that ridiculously and striking a pose, I have always been me and this still stands true.

This has been said before, but I am here to say it again: we need to embrace our differences and show them off for once instead of trying to conform to how others think we should be.  At this point in time, there are so many people in the world, we don’t all need to be identical.  What would be the fun in that?

Rejoice and love yourself today because baby, you were born this way. -Lady GaGa

2 Comments leave one →
  1. L Weesner permalink
    September 29, 2012 8:38 pm

    Jonathan, you are an excellent communicator in black & white. I believe, with what little I know, you need to be in the communications field, magazines, newspaper (editorials). You are still young, go back to school get your Masters in something that will get you going in that direction. Love Aunt Linda.

Trackbacks

  1. The End « jonathan crumes

Leave a Reply

