Skip to content

How-To: Fajita Nachos

October 12, 2012

Today, I am trying something new: a how-to article. What will I be explaining the process of? Only the most delicious thing ever known to man: fajita nachos.

I first discovered the amazingness of fajita nachos at a Mexican restaurant while in college. Not until recently did I put two and two together to realize that I could pretty much copy the entree at home. My epiphany is now your dinner!

Ingredients:

  • nachos
  • tomato
  • fajita vegetables
  • queso
  • chicken
  • steak
  • olive oil
  • non-stick spray

Things You’ll Need:

  1. skillet
  2. round cake pan

Before I jump into the procedure, let me just say that the way that I prepare this dish is really simple: semi-homemade. I buy everything pretty much finished for me at the grocery and I compile everything. If you’d like to avoid making it so easy, just substitute the pre-prepared items for their raw alternatives and cook them accordingly. The only thing I wouldn’t substitute would be the queso. Mainly because the type I have found is a perfect substitute for restaurant queso and an attempt to make your own may not end up being too successful.

  1. Pre-heat your oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Place a little olive oil into your skillet on medium-low and add your fajita vegetables but not the tomato. Be sure to add some salt and pepper! Let these cook down a bit and develop a nice color.
  3. Begin to prepare the queso per the packaging’s instructions. This will take about five minutes total in the microwave.
  4. Add your chicken and/or steak into the skillet with your fajita vegetables and allow them to cook a bit longer with the vegetables. After a few minutes, add in your diced tomato (I like to keep my tomato pretty chunky).
  5. Once the tomato has been in the skillet for about two minutes, remove the skillet from the stove.
  6. Coat your cake pan with non-stick spray and place some nachos into it.
  7. Pour your vegetable and meat mixture over the nachos followed by the queso (I usually use about half of the container).
  8. Place in the oven for 6-8 minutes.
  9. This is completely optional, but you may broil them for about 2-3 minutes to make it even better!

After removing it from the oven, it is ready to dig into!

Fair warning, it makes quite a bit of food even when using only half of the ingredients on hand. Perfect example: in these photos, I only used half of the fajita mix, half of the tomato, and half of each the chicken and steak. Be sure to be either hungry or have someone to share with!

My favorite thing about fajita nachos are that the possibilities are really endless. There are really no exact measurements or necessary ingredients apart from the nachos and queso. I have made these with only chicken, I have left out the peppers, and I have even added mushrooms. Everything about this recipe is open for change!

Make yourself some fajita nachos and let me know what you think!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

