Skip to content

Black Friday

November 23, 2012

Lets be honest here: Thanksgiving isn’t as much as what it is supposed to be as it has become Black Friday Eve.  No longer do we celebrate with a late Thanksgiving dinner and often, dinner is not served on Thanksgiving day.

Black Friday sales begin at 8pm on Thanksgiving this year: a far cry from the 5am sales beginning on Friday morning of the past.  This doesn’t necessarily bother me since I usually don’t partake in the crazy events that are door buster sales, but I can’t help but feel for the retail workers that have no other choice but to miss Thanksgiving to prepare for psycho mothers trying to score a Tickle-Me Elmo (1998, anyone?).

To me, Black Friday is nothing more than a means to acquire not Christmas gifts, but things I’ve wanted for a while that become dirt-cheap for one day only.  Selfish?  Whatever, I’m fine with that.  DVDs and BluRays are usually what I attack.  I make it a point to browse the wreckage that once was Wal-Mart to see what was left behind.

This year I decided to try my hand at an 8pm sale.  Why?  I’ve always wanted a Wii but could never justify spending the money.  Lucky me!  At 8pm they’re dropping the price enough to allow me to throw all caution to the wind and just buy one.  #YOLO

Mom and I went and stood in line for an hour and a half to get a Wii.  That being said, we walked away with not only a Wii but a ton of other things we didn’t even plan to buy (digital picture frame, anyone?).

I’ve had my fill of Black Friday.  Not sure I’d do it again.  But of course, I’d jump in line for days for some reasonably priced Apple products.  Until then, ill sit this holiday out.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

