Skip to content

First Birthday!

December 10, 2012

CandleSomething is turning one today!  This blog is officially one year old!  But now comes the question: exactly how does one celebrate a blog’s first birthday?

Awkward, right?  Yeah.  Me, too.

The thought had crossed my mind to make some bright blue cupcakes.  Then I realized exactly how lame that idea was.  Thought about just ignoring the one-year mark altogether only to realize that is just as lame.

Instead, I decided to simply blog.  Blog about what has happened in this year.  Before jumping into how I feel about lasting through a year, I must first get one terrible reference out of the way: 525,600 minutes, 525,000 moments so dear, 525,600 minutes, how do you measure, measure a year?

That was inevitable.  It was best to go ahead and get it out of the way.

Over the course of a year, I have gone through quite a bit of change personally.  But involving this blog, I feel like it is obvious that I have learned to open up a lot more than I was originally used to.  A year ago, I honestly didn’t think this would still be a thing let alone something that would be visited as much as it is.

BirthdayCakeThere was a period that I let the blog fall into the back of my mind.  I honestly hate that it happened, but I was one busy little bee during that time.  I’m just relieved that it not only held me down, but made me that much more enthusiastic to start working on it again.

Blogging everyday in September really marked the turnaround for me with this blog.  By posting everyday, I really had to reach for ideas and actually be creative.  Though I will admit that some of the ideas that I explored weren’t really all too great, but hey, I was also working full-time and trying to maintain a social life, too!

Looking forward, I am very excited about some new ideas I have for this blog as well as the ability to share them with a much larger audience than I began with.  This journey I started a year ago today with an awkward hello is only just beginning.

Here’s to another year to come!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

