Skip to content

Grown-Up Christmas List

December 18, 2012

12DaysofChristmasRed

DearSantaOne of my favorite Christmas songs has to be Michael Bublé’s version of Grown-Up Christmas List.  Each passing year, I grow up and mature just a little bit more and find myself relating to the lyrics even more than the previous year.

While all I really want this year for Christmas is anything and everything that is available in bright blue (Furby, I’m looking at you), I can’t help but think about what I really wish could realistically be wished for.

At the risk of sounding cliché, my first wish would be for peace.  I won’t stretch as far to request world peace because let’s be real: I have serious doubts that even Santa would be capable of pulling off that feat.  I would however request peace among neighbors.  Simply be and let be.

PeaceI would wish for everyone to experience the feeling of true happiness in whichever capacity would provide the most joy.  Everyone deserves to understand what real happiness feels like even if it isn’t everlasting.  Something to remember at the very least.

My last Christmas wish would rid the world of evil: something the world seems to have an abundance of as of lately.  While I’m not pretending to be the poster-child for nice and friendly, I can at least say that nothing compares to recent events here in the United States.

I will continue to hope for these things to all happen, but I’m going to keep it real and not let myself down by expecting anything much.  Until then, I’ll be on the prowl for my bright blue Furby.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

